Skip to Content

Senate votes to proceed with impeachment trial, claims jurisdiction

WASHINGTON (Fort Wayne's NBC) - By a vote of 56-44, senators on Tuesday allowed the impeachment trial of former president Donald Trump to proceed.

The vote was on the question of jurisdiction for such proceedings, which -- for the first time ever -- center on the actions of a president who is no longer in office.

Six Republicans voted with 50 Democrats (and Democrat-leaning independents) to proceed with the impeachment trial.

They were:

  • Sen. Bill Cassidy
  • Sen. Susan Collins
  • Sen. Lisa Murkowski
  • Sen. Mitt Romney
  • Sen. Ben Sasse
  • Sen. Pat Toomey

The vote followed a presentation by Trump's attorneys, who argued that the Senate proceedings are unconstitutional.

Jonathan Shelley

Jonathan Shelley is the news director at WPTA TV, which he joined in 2016 following nine years in a similar role in New Orleans and previous news management positions in Oklahoma City and Las Vegas.

Skip to content