Skip to Content

Meal service begins Tuesday for Fort Wayne children, infant through high school age

FORT WAYNE, Ind. (Fort Wayne's NBC) - Fort Wayne Community Schools will provide free meals for children beginning Tuesday, the second day of a four-week hiatus prompted by the COVID-19 outbreak.

Meals will be offered to any child, regardless of the school they attend. Youngsters not yet in school will also qualify.

FWCS will distribute breakfast and lunch packs from 10:30 a.m.-1:30 p.m. daily at all FWCS elementary schools. Children must be present to pick up the meals, which will be distributed by drive-up or walk-up. Meals will be available Monday through Friday during the entire closure, including during spring break (March 30-April 3).

FWCS currently plans to be closed through April 10. Officials will continue to monitor the COVID-19 pandemic and follow the recommendations of federal, state and local health officials.

Distribution locations are as follows:

  • Abbett Elementary School, 4325 Smith St.
  • Adams Elementary School, 3000 New Haven Ave.
  • Arlington Elementary School, 8118 St. Joe Center Road
  • Bloomingdale Elementary School, 1300 Orchard St.
  • Brentwood Elementary School, 3710 Stafford Drive
  • Bunche Early Childhood Center, 1111 Greene St.
  • Croninger Elementary School, 6700 Trier Road
  • Fairfield Elementary School, 2825 Fairfield Ave.
  • Forest Park Elementary School, 2004 Alabama Ave.
  • Franke Park Elementary School, 828 Mildred Ave.
  • Glenwood Park Elementary School, 4501 Vance Ave.
  • Haley Elementary School, 2201 Maplecrest Road
  • Harris Elementary School, 4501 Thorngate Drive
  • Harrison Hill Elementary School, 355 Cornell Circle
  • Holland Elementary School, 7000 Red Haw Drive
  • Indian Village Elementary School, 3835 Wenonah Lane
  • Irwin Elementary School, 3501 S. Anthony Blvd.
  • Lincoln Elementary School, 1001 E. Cook Road
  • Lindley Elementary School, 2201 Ardmore Ave.
  • Maplewood Elementary School, 2200 Maplewood Road
  • Northcrest Elementary School, 5301 Archwood Lane
  • Price Elementary School, 1901 W. State Blvd.
  • Joseph Central Elementary School, 6341 St. Joe Center Road
  • Levan Scott Academy, 950 E. Fairfax Ave.
  • Shambaugh Elementary School, 5320 Rebecca St.
  • South Wayne Elementary School, 810 Cottage Ave.
  • Study Elementary School, 2414 Brooklyn Ave.
  • Washington Elementary School, 1015 W. Washington Blvd.
  • Washington Center Elementary School, 1936 W. Wallen Road
  • Waynedale Elementary School, 7201 Elzey St.
  • Weisser Park Elementary School, 902 Colerick St.
  • Whitney Young Early Childhood Center, 1026 E. Pontiac St.

All four Allen County public school systems have suspended classroom instruction through at least mid-April due to concerns regarding the spread of the novel coronavirus.

Jonathan Shelley

Jonathan Shelley is the news director at WPTA TV, which he joined in 2016 following nine years in a similar role in New Orleans and previous news management positions in Oklahoma City and Las Vegas.

Skip to content