Skip to Content

Notre Dame’s Kelly wins AP Coach of the Year for second time

(AP) — Notre Dame’s Brian Kelly is The Associated Press college football Coach of the Year, becoming the third multiple winner since it was established in 1998.

Kelly received 16 of 58 first-place votes from AP college football poll voters and 81 total points. Alabama’s Nick Saban was second with 16 first-place votes and 66 points and Central Florida first-year coach Josh Heupel (HY’-pul) was third with 33 points.

Kelly joins Saban and TCU’s Gary Patterson as two-time winners. Kelly was also coach of the year in 2012.

Chris Ryan

Chris Ryan is the Sports Director for Fort Wayne’s NBC.

Skip to content